Using technology in the classroom

As professional experience is rapidly drawing to a close, I will reflect on one of the lessons that I took today.

The school that I am in doesn’t have a laptop or BYOD (Bring Your Own Device) program, but they rely on class sets of laptops that have to be booked well in advance of your lessons. These are linked to the slowest network, as I was made aware that it takes a long time for the computers to load, I had alternative exercises organised for this. However, I didn’t think it would take as long as it did! In the end I had three students who couldn’t log on, so I ran through the activity with them via the whiteboard. Because of this I wasn’t able to go around and observe what the other members of the class were doing, however, they are a really good group of students and when they finished creating one creature, they when through the activity again creating a different one.

The activity that I had the students completing was creating a creature of their own. They are learning about the development of characters and how character descriptions assist with making narratives and scripts more interesting. They really enjoyed it, so much so that some wrote down the URL so they could create more creatures at home!

What I did do however in a second class that I took today, was instead of each student getting a laptop, we completed the activity as a whole class. Each member of the class answered the questions or chose certain character elements to create their creature. They really enjoyed it and got a lot out of it.

Until next time, cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

